Professional Reader
What Did I Do? New thriller from Jessica Jarlvi. A tightly wound knot of secrets, sex and psychological disturbance

I CAN’T REMEMBER… 

Kristin is on the run. From her life. From herself. 
When two murders take place in Chicago, Kristin quickly finds herself a prime suspect. The problem is she can’t be sure of what she did or didn’t do. 

DID THEY MAKE ME DO IT? 

In fear for her life, Kristin flees abroad to start her life over. But it’s not that easy to escape the past. And whatever she’s done, someone is on her tail, wanting her to pay. The question is: could she be a killer and not even remember?

Duffy’s Thoughts On What Did I Do?

Firstly, the book cover is everything I look for when seeking out my next thriller read. Sleek design, punchy title and intriguing tagline. What Did I Do? was totally my bag.

The location switch from Chicago to a small town in Sweden seemed a unique choice, but the stark Swedish undertones definitely added to the building tensions of the plotlines, of which there are many. With what Did I Do? YOu need to be prepared to concentrate.

I did have to flick back through the pages a couple of times and re-read paragraphs to make sure I was reading about the person I thought I was. This was made a little more confusing by the italicised chapters of an unknown woman. However, as the secrets reveal themselves (no spoilers here!) I began to realise that this was probably intentional by the author to convey Kristen’s fractured memory and delicate mental state.

When I Wake Up. A psychological thriller by Jessica Jarlvi

The plot twist was a hell of one! I didn’t see it coming at all and had to sit for a while to put all the pieces together in my head and I was still thinking about it a couple of days later. If a book gets that deep into your head, the writer is doing something right. Jessica Jarlvi certainly has a talent for writing sharp, dark thrillers.

What Did I Do? is a complex, tightly knotted psychological thriller which kept me intrigued to the very end. If you like multiple storyline threads and a book that makes you concentrate rather than switch off, this is the thriller for you. Ideal for fans of Sara Foster books and The Silent Patient.

What Did I Do? Latest psychological thriller from Jessica Jarlvi